jump to navigation

Album art January 6, 2010

Posted by gwyoung in Art, Projects.
Tags: ,
trackback

My final project for my introductory art class was an exploration of album art. I’ve always been sort of fascinated by how something entirely visual can convey the same feeling evoked by something entirely auditory. After looking closely at some of the cover art for my favorite albums to see what I liked about it, I set out to make my own. At first I wanted to re-imagine the existing art for some of my favorite albums that I felt wasn’t up to snuff when compared to the music, but then quickly scrapped that idea since my preconceived notions of what should be on the cover were interfering with my ability to create something new. Instead, I decided to make artwork for 7″ singles for individual tracks that had no existing art. I tried to match the feeling of the song with the images I used for the cover, and I did most of the work in Photoshop using either photos I’ve taken or interesting pictures I found through a simple google search. Here’s what I came up with:

Comments»

1. Daniel - January 21, 2010

aaaah these are so cool. I think my favorites are the innerspace and animal collective ones


Leave a Reply

