jump to navigation

Top 35 Albums of 2011: 35-16 December 20, 2011

Posted by gwyoung in Album Reviews, Lists, Music.
Tags: ,
trackback

I couldn’t limit myself to 20 albums this year like I’ve done in the past, so I decided to try for 30. Even then, I thought of 5 “honorable mention” albums that didn’t make a big enough splash to make my official list but are still special enough to include, and so instead of making an extra post for those I decided to just lump them in with the rest. In addition, writing blurbs for 35 albums seemed like a daunting task, so I decided to do blurbs for the top 15 only and just list the other 20 (with links to sample some of their sounds, of course.) And, so the post wouldn’t be the size of ten other posts and take forever to load all the affiliated youtube videos, I made a stylistic decision to condense the content. Finally, unlike in previous years, no albums are excluded from this list. These are, in order, my 35 favorite albums from this year, definitively. Here’s #35 – #26:

.

—-

35. Nurses – Dracula

34. Gauntlet Hair – Gauntlet Hair

33. Moonface – Organ Music Not Vibraphone Like I’d Hoped

32. The Field – Looping State Of Mind

31. Jinja Safari – Locked By Land

30. Foster The People – Torches

29. Roommate – Guilty Rainbow

28. Car Seat Headrest – Twin Fantasy

27. Skeletons – People

26. M83 – Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming

25. Delicate Steve – Wondervisions

24. Julian Lynch – Terra

23. Okkervil River – I Am Very Far

22. Bjork – Biophilia

21. TV On The Radio – Nine Types Of Light

20. Shabazz Palaces – Black Up

19. Tune-yards – whokill

18. Balam Acab – Wander/Wonder

17. James Blake – James Blake

16. Washed Out – Within And Without

…stay tuned for the top 15…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

