jump to navigation

Album Art Revisited April 12, 2012

Posted by gwyoung in Art, Projects.
Tags: ,
trackback

Followers of this blog might recall one of my first posts, sharing the album art I made for my introductory art class’ final project. Well, recently I’ve been inspired to revive that undertaking, so I downloaded a free trial of Photoshop Elements and proceeded to play around with it, creating 15 new single covers for some of my favorite songs as of late. Most of the source material is from Google image searches, but some are from pictures I’ve taken over the years. Like I’ve said before, what most intrigues me about album art is its ability to both capture and re-define the essence of the song it represents, so once again I attempted to match and speak to the music with the tools of visual composition. I’m pretty pleased with the results:

I’m always trying to think of more ideas to work on, so be sure to comment with feedback or requests!

Comments»

1. More album art « safer in the dark - May 5, 2012

[…] Posted by gwyoung in Art, Projects. Tags: album art, photoshop trackback After my last album art post, I kept chugging along with the same project until I felt myself losing interest and running out of […]

2. “Maneki Neko” « safer in the dark - January 4, 2013

[…] An acrylic rendition of my album art for “Genesis”. […]


Leave a Reply

